Thing 1: Blogs and blogging

I’m in a bit of an in-between world right now: I completed my last MSLIS class in December, and I’m looking for a job as a Librarian, which may not come for a while given my lack of library experience and the state of the job market. I’ve spent a significant part of my time during the last three years thinking about librarianship, and I want to continue thinking and refining my ideas. I saw the post about CDP23 starting up, and I thought it would be a great way to help myself focus on library-related topics. With a full-time job, a job search, a cross-country move, and family obligations, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to give myself prompts to think and write about the kind of Librarian I want to be.

I have a strong interest in Web 2.0 and the ways in which web technologies and applications are influencing or being influenced by libraries. I have thought a lot about digital libraries, virtual reference, user-generated content in libraries, the whole ebook issue, and similar topics. I want to share those thoughts with others who share my interests, and hear what they have to say as well, especially given that I am new to this field. I think CPD23 is a perfect vehicle for those conversations to happen.

I also want to give myself a blogging structure so that I can get into a solid posting rhythm. I tried to start this blog when I began the Master’s program, only to find that I didn’t have a lot of free time and that I struggled to find my librarian voice. I also couldn’t escape the feeling that I was the tree falling in the forest where no one can hear. I am hopeful that this program will help in overcoming those obstacles.

Leave a Reply

